The Great Mind-Shift: Why I Decided To Learn Data Analysis.

The Great Mind-Shift: Why I Decided To Learn Data Analysis.

Our dreams- our passions- our visions are what shape us. It illuminates a path in us. A decision to die or dine.

Dear Reader,

This journey you are about to engage in is that of self-discovery. A story of a girl who was once lost, now found. We all have a story. Something that shapes us, a desire that makes us want to take the world by surprise. A dream to live for.

Have you ever felt you cannot achieve something but after a while, you found your path? Well, welcome to this train. I have been there too.

Let me be your captain for today.

Growing up, I have always had this touch of inquisitiveness or curiosity. I was likened to various cartoon warriors due to my feistiness and strong will.

I performed so well in mathematics, physics, and surprisingly English. At that time, people considered it a rare trait because it was hard to see someone good at mathematics being so expressive in writing and communication.

I read and engage in every conversation when I had the chance. I analyze movies with my siblings for fun. As little as was, I found it easy to state a place where products were wrong. I performed sentiment analysis without knowing.

movie critic pivture.webp

I listened to my friends talk about the most watched movies and I could tell if it would sell well or if it was something great to watch. I was so versatile that people loved and enjoyed my company.

I don't read a book without coming up with something to say. Those times, I called myself the solution warrior. I had ideas for every problem I wanted to solve(sadly, I lost the book)

Moving Into Adulthood

It was a great stage for me but the most heart-wrenching. The versatility which I once found as a great power turned back to be my most hunted trait. My curiosity on the other hand made me less satisfied. I was so hungry for knowledge and winning that most times, it was so hard to move on. I made a lot of mistakes in my career decision after my secondary school education.

The mistakes were mostly because I didn't have a mind of my own any longer, I had to start listening to people and going by whatever they said. The covid-19 period was a huge era of transformation for me. My desire to make money made me plunge back into writing

I started with storytelling, and as time went on, I started having crazy ideas once again, I was so determined not to be moved by the crowd once again so I sat down to analyze myself.

I love to be expressive, to move tales, or to drive emotions during storytelling. I love to come up with ideas to help my friends. So I decided to study marketing.

That inspiration and passion to solve problems was my drive that even though when I began my writing journey I felt it was best to just approach it in the business way.

transitioning into adulthood.jpg

Working for various firms, designing business plans, and working as a brand Strategist for various brands made me see the possibilities of data.

My skill as a marketer and brand Strategist made me handle various projects. Both hackathons and contract based.

I was not perse a project manager in terms of certification but people preferred me because I was so good at media, communication, and community management.

I wrote a blog post about my last hackathon experience, you can learn about that here

Things began to fall short when I noticed most of the things I come up with are just opinion based. I came up with crazy ideas, but it was mostly from my experience.

There were points where I never had experiences with something. What did I do? I sit down, get consumed or most times overwhelmed. Then go back to research. But the truth is that these things weren't enough to solve my problem.

And that was when I learned of Data Analysis.

Who is a Data Analyst?

data analytics picture.jpg

A data analyst is someone who makes meaningful insights out of data. They first convert data to information, information to insights, and then use those insights to make great decisions. Their opinions are data-driven. They analyze huge datasets and can tell a business if what they are doing is going fine or not.

The journey of wanting to be a data analyst was not easy at all because it's a new field. I tried as much as possible to do or engage in things but it was very hard until I saw a book on statistics written by Agresti and Franklin. It changed my perception of everything and I enjoy the course and all it entails.

It was a huge discovery for me. A discovery of leap. I learned about the possibilities of using various tools to analyze wide arrays of data to be able to achieve whatever you want.

A data analyst uses tools Iike excel, power, SQL e.t.c to get insights from data.

Conclusion:

Earth hath no fury for a dreamy heart. My wanting to become a data analyst was because of my desire to solve various problems. I believe I am not limited as I plunge further into my journey.

Data analysis is the beginning of many more stories and achievements in data to come. I am going to try out other data fields as time goes on to achieve my aim.

Give yourself the chance to dream about change and watch out for how all your dreams unfold.

Did you enjoy this article? Let me know in the comment box.

Note: This article was written as a submission for Hashnode

#week1 #4articles4weeks Writeathon Hasnode